Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
6 février 2017 1 06 /02 /février /2017 08:23
Some 1,000 olive trees uprooted to build bypass road on ‘Azzun village land
Published:
1 Feb 2017


Video: Civil Administration forces uproot olive trees on ‘Azzun village land. Filmed by Abdulkarim Sadi, B'Tselem

On Sunday, 15 January 2017, laborers began uprooting olive trees and leveling land near the Palestinian villages of ‘Azzun and a-Nabi Elyas in Qalqilya District, under the supervision of Civil Administration (CA) personnel. This work is being carried out as part of the decision made by the military and the CA to build a bypass road to replace the section of Route 55 that runs through a-Nabi Elyas. Route 55 originally served as the main link between Nablus and Qalqilya and was one of the major traffic arteries in the West Bank. Over time, as settlements expanded, it also became essential to settlers, as it connects several large settlements with Israel’s coastal plains and central region.

The decision to build the bypass road was first made in 1989, with the goal of sparing settlers the need to drive through the village of a-Nabi Elyas. However, it was not pursued until September 2013, when the Civil Administration planning institutions began the planning process. In October 2015, the project was expedited due to pressure by the settler leadership: According to Israeli media reports , Prime Minister Netanyahu promised the heads of the settlement local councils that the road would be built after they had set up a protest tent in October 2015, following the attack that killed Naama and Eitam Henkin.

On 21 December 2015, the head of the Civil Administration issued an expropriation order for 10.4 hectares of land earmarked for the bypass road. The order noted that the new road will “serve the public good” and improve mobility between Nablus and Qalqilya. In March 2016, the Palestinian village councils and landowners petitioned Israel’s High Court of Justice (HCJ) against the expropriation, on the grounds that the road will not serve all residents of the area but only settlers. On 16 November 2016, the HCJ denied the petition after accepting the state’s claim that the road is intended to serve the entire population of the area.

The seizure of the land and uprooting of olive trees have severely harmed the landowners, who have lost a source of income and a major financial asset, as well as an open space that served all local residents for leisure and recreational activities.

Hussni Abu Haniyeh, 69, a married father of seven and resident of ‘Azzun, told B’Tselem in a testimony he gave field researcher Abdulkarim Sadi on 22 January 2017:

Hussni Abu Haniyeh. Photo: Abdulkarim Sadi, B'Tselem, 22 Jan. 2017I inherited a plot of 0.4 hectares from my father, may he rest in peace. My father inherited it from my grandfather decades ago. Since 1990, I’ve been producing 15 cans of olive oil a year from the land. In summer, my wife and I take the children to spend time in the beautiful landscape there, which looks out over the Mediterranean Sea . We go there to picnic and the grandchildren play in nature.

At the end of 2015, the Israeli authorities decided to build a bypass road across our land. At the end of 2016, our petition was denied. Now, on 15 January 2017, Israeli bulldozers started razing the olive trees and working on the ground. They uprooted 26 olive trees from my plot, including three ancient trees. The others are fifty or sixty years old. Ten of the trees were replanted along a strip of land by the road, and I hope they come back to life. I lost something that was very dear to me. Whenever I encountered any difficulty in life, I would go to my land to sit and think, away from the troubles of daily life.

The state argued that the road is meant to serve Palestinians in the area, too, in order to comply with the provisions of international law, which allow the occupying power to expropriate land within the occupied area in two circumstances only. The first is a specific military need related to the occupied territory itself, and the second is promoting the wellbeing of the residents of the occupied territory.

This is not the first time Israeli authorities have claimed the requisitioning of Palestinian land was meant for building roads that would serve the Palestinian population as well, and therefore meets the obligation to serve “the public interest”. This argument was most famously made in the petition against the massive land expropriation undertaken to expand Route 443 north of Jerusalem. In 1983, the HCJ accepted the state’s declaration that the road was intended to serve Palestinians, too, and upheld the seizure. However, in 2002, after several shooting attacks against Israeli cars driving on the road, the military blocked access to it from the surrounding Palestinian villages, although the road was built on their land. Since then, Route 443 has functioned as an Israeli-only road, sanctioned by the HCJ’s permission to employ checkpoints in such a way as to render Palestinian access to it merely hypothetical. Route 443 is not the only road that Palestinians are barred from using in the West Bank. According to B’Tselem’s last check in January 2017, there are some 60 kilometers of roads in the West Bank that Israel dedicates exclusively for settlers and prohibits Palestinians from driving on.

Civil Administration forces uproot olive trees on ‘Azzun village land. Photo by Abdulkarim Sadi, B'Tselem, 16 Jan 2017
Civil Administration forces uproot olive trees on ‘Azzun village land. Photo by Abdulkarim Sadi, B'Tselem, 16 Jan 2017

While Israel professes to act for the benefit the occupied population, its policies routinely ignore this population’s needs. One example is the prohibition on construction and development in Area C along with incessant demolition of homes there, which peaked in 2016. These practices are based on the conception of Area C – which encompasses most of the West Bank – as an area to be used for Israeli interests only. These facts, when taken together with false statements about seizing Palestinian land “for the public good” and pressure from the settler lobby, attest yet again to Israel’s policy and aims, which all arms of the state – the planning authorities, the Civil Administration, the settlers, the government, and the HCJ – are working in conjunction to achieve.

 

http://www.btselem.org/ota

Partager cet article
Repost0

commentaires

E
Hi Viewers Get your Blank ATM card that works in all ATM machines all over the world.. We have specially programmed ATM cards that can be used to hack ATM machines, the ATM cards can be used to withdraw at the ATM or swipe, at stores and POS. We sell this cards to all interested buyers worldwide, the card has a daily withdrawal limit of $1,000 on ATM and up to $20,000 spending limit in stores depending on the kind of card you order for, we are here for you anytime, any day. Email; (blankatm002@gmail.com) I'm grateful to Mike because he changed my story all of a sudden . The card works in all countries except, contact him now (blankatm002@gmail.com)
Répondre
A
I was searching for loan to sort out my bills& debts, then i saw comments about Blank ATM Credit Card that can be hacked to withdraw money from any ATM machines around you . I doubted thus but decided to give it a try by contacting { cyberhackingcompany@gmail.com} they responded with their guidelines on how the card works. I was assured that the card can withdraw $5,000 instant per day & was credited with$50,000,000.00 so i requested for one & paid the delivery fee to obtain the card, after 24 hours later, i was shock to see the UPS agent in my resident with a parcel{card} i signed and went back inside and confirmed the card work's after the agent left. This is no doubts because i have the card & has made used of the card. This hackers are USA based hackers set out to help people with financial freedom!! Contact these email if you wants to get rich with this Via: cyberhackingcompany@gmail.com ..
Répondre
D
My ex ruined my credit due to his incessant extravagant spending spree, I found myself in a big mess. I talked to a credit repair company and I was told that it would take me non less than a year to fix my credit. I was devastated, that's a very long time which I can't cope with. I looked online and came across Credit Doctor's contact, hit him up and to my greatest surprise, my credit was repaired in 4 working days from 486 -810. I was so amazed and it didn't cost me too much really. I implore you to contact him on for all credit issues and hacking issues. No doubt that he's the best out there and your problems will be solved!<br /> HACKINTECHNOLOGY@GMAIL.COM<br /> +16692252253
Répondre
M
Are you in financial crisis, looking for money to start your own business or to pay your bills? I got mine from Him. My blank ATM card can withdraw € 2,000 daily. I got it from Her last week and now I have €14,000 for free. The blank ATM withdraws money from any ATM machines and there is no name on it, it is not traceable and now i have money for business and enough money for me and my family to live on . *email: int.hackers002@gmail.com<br /> <br /> GET YOUR BLANK ATM CREDIT CARD AT AFFORDABLE PRICE<br /> *He sell this cards to all our customers and interested buyers worldwide,the card has a daily withdrawal limit of $5000 and up to $50,000 spending limit in stores and unlimited on POS.*<br /> <br /> *email: int.hackers002@gmail.com<br /> <br /> *you can also call or whatsapp us Contact us today for more enlightenment<br /> +1(301) 329-5298
Répondre
G
My son was born 6-16-2010 via a repeat c-section. shortly after birth he couldn't keep his o2 up and was jerking so they sent us to a larger hosptial. Once there it was torture. They first thought it was a blood disorder because his blood was thicker than normal, then they noticed his seizures. After that we did the MRI and the next day the nuero met us in the nicu to discuss his findings. I remember I kept asking the nurses about his results and all I was told was the Dr. can explain better than me so we knew something wasn't right. I was sitting in the chair beside his bed and the neuro came in and said your son has had a LARGE right mca infarct which is a stroke. I lost it then and they then asked me did I want to see his MRI. I just couldn't and to this day still haven't. Until i meet a post online about Dr Lewis Hill product is a real cure who help my son and i can say my son his fine and i will love you parent's should help your child or Adult that has this should also try and contact Dr Lewis Hill (email him on: drlewishill247@gmail.com)
Répondre